The Drake Hotel, Toronto • 11-13 September 2023

Monika Ille
Chief Executive Officer
Monika Ille is a member of the Abenaki First Nation of Odanak, located in Quebec. Over the course of 30 years in the broadcasting industry, she has built a rich and diverse portfolio that celebrates Indigenous cultures. She holds a bachelor’s degree from the Université du Québec à Montréal and in 2020 completed the McGill-HEC Montréal Executive MBA program.   Monika has worked for a broad range of organizations, including the Société Radio-Canada, the National Film Board (NFB), the Assembly of First Nations and Quebec Native Women. During her time at the NFB, she was instrumental in the development of a new training program for Indigenous filmmakers. This experience introduced her to the world of film production, eventually inspiring her to film her first documentary, French Man, Native Son Monika brought her strong creative vision to APTN in 2003. She first joined the team as the Quebec liaison officer and then moved into the programming department. For many years, she served as the executive director of programming and scheduling. Her accomplishments at the network led to her appointment as chief executive officer of APTN on Dec. 16, 2019.  Monika sits on the board of directors for the Université de Montréal and the Canadian Museum of Nature and is on the council of the Ordre de Montréal. She is also an industry adjudicator on the Canadian Broadcast Standards Council – Quebec Regional Panel. In 2019, Monika was named one of Maison Saint-Gabriel’s Exceptional Women. In 2022, she received the Desautels Management Achievement Award from McGill University and was named Playback’s Executive of the Year. Most recently, The Globe and Mail listed Monika as one of the 25 most influential people in Canadian television.     

More speakers at Content Canada 2023

Evan Shapiro Resized
Evan Shapiro
Phil Breman Resized
Phil Breman
Fenton Bailey Resized
Fenton Bailey
Christina Jennings
Zaib Shaikh Resized
Moderator: Zaib Shaikh
Michael MacMillan Resized
Michael MacMillan
Valerie Creighton Resized
Valerie Creighton
Mark Garner
Bill Lundy resized
Moderator: Bill Lundy
Carrie Paupst Shaughnessy
Carrie Paupst Shaughnessy